Deeper Still

Well, I had a great couple of days in Nashville.  I was so blessed to be able to go to the Deeper Still Conference with Beth Moore, Priscilla Shirer, and Kay Arthur.  It was absolutely fabulous!

Tigerfan gave me the ticket for Christmas last year which was soooo sweet, but it was also a little scary for me because normally if I didn’t have a “buddy” to go with, I wouldn’t go.  In this instance, I had to go–it was a gift so I stepped out of my comfort zone and signed up to go with my church group.  I even roomed with a girl I had never met, very unlike me.  I am so glad that I did because the weekend was a blessing.  Let me just share the highlights.

1. Mandisa was there and sang “Shackles”–enough said!

2.Priscilla Shirer was and is incredible!  She is the daughter of Tony Evans and is just as inspired!  Her message was incredible!  The one thing that stuck with me the most was this thought:  How would my actions/attitude change if I had an awareness that God is here!  Wow!  that is still a very deep thought!

3.  Beth Moore is not only adorable and funny but absolutely profound!  I want to be her when I grow up!  I loved this idea in her message:  A good decision may not be a God decision.  She was talking about David in 2 Samuel 7.  He wanted to build a house for God but God had no need of a house, instead He would build a house for David.  He wants to do that for us–He wants so much more for us than we even imagine for ourselves.  It is really unfathomable!

4.  Kay Arthur is not only brilliant, she is probably the spriest 70 something year old I have ever seen.  After being Beth Moore for awhile, I want to be Kay Arthur in my older years!  She was inspiring not only because she is sooooo knowledgeable about the Bible (she can truly give you a scripture for just about anything) but very, very honest.  She talked about being at Crossroads in life and avoiding sin but also about the hope and redemption we have because of God’s grace.  I love what she said about our past–just stop moaning and groaning about it.  We can’t change it so let God use it!  Amazing.

5.  At the last break, I really should have used the bathroom.  However, the line was extraordinarily long and my reasoning was I really did not think I could stand up and hold it, so I would go sit down and when the last session started, I would be the annoying person who had to excuse herself over a row full of people to use the facilities.  I did not realize that the question and answer forum would be so highly entertaining, though and I just couldn’t tear myself away.  I do not know if I have ever laughed so hard or come so close to soiling my own britches in all my life!

This, of course, is only a small drop of all I was blessed to experience this weekend but I must tear myself away.  If you get a chance, you must try to go see any of these women but if a Deeper Still event comes close to you-you MUST try to go-you will not regret it.

Have a great day!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Pops said,

    Howdy,
    I am having a great time reading your blog. You write great but mostly it is just good to kind of spend a few minutes with you every day.
    Pops


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

