From Tutorial to Tums

I know after yesterday’s riveting post you are expecting to read more high quality, deep thoughts, but I really have nothing today and while this seems to be the perfect opportunity to write about Tigerfan’s most embarassing moments or something equally thought provoking, I promised him I would not do that.  At least not until I get really desperate.

Today has been very peaceful and quiet around here (strange, I know).  We had tutorial this morning and then headed home for lunch.  I usually bring one of football boy’s friends home on Tuesday, but his grandmother got him today, so it was just us!  We had lunch and watched a riveting Blue’s Clues movie-much to the boys dismay, they lost their votes when they couldn’t get along so Dancer Girl got the rare opportunity to choose the picnic entertainment! 

After lunch, Dancer girl played while the boys worked on math and spelling.  They informed me that they really didn’t need me, so I put away laundry while they worked.  I haven’t been sleeping well lately and was really tired and mentioned that I might go lie down for awhile, which the children really got excited about!  I must admit, their extreme excitement had me a little nervous…it made me think back to the story Mamma tells of how my older sister and I decided to build a bird nest out of corn flakes and flour while she was taking a nap one time, however, sometimes exhaustion just wins out over fear.  I rested awhile and when I got up, I was told they were fine, go back to bed.  I insisted I had to stay up and was told that was fine, as long as I left them alone–can’t you feel the love?

Anyway, Tigerfan had an eatin’ meetin’ tonight so we were on our own and because they had not killed enough brain cells watching Blues’s Clues, we watched “Chitty, Chitty, Bang, Bang” at supper and then the kids wanted to keep watching it, so like any good, doting mother I allowed them to do that while I cleaned the kitchen and even Dancer’s bedroom until it was time to get ready for bed. 

Not very exciting blog material, but aaaah the peace!  I let the kids read awhile in their beds while I talked Tigerfan through the grocery store to pick up a few things for me (I have to take snacks to Bible Study tomorrow night)–isn’t he sweet!  He even brought us all surprises of the chocolate variety and at this point in my life perhaps an even sweeter surprise an economy pack of Tums!

So, not an exciting day, but definitely a day where I can say, “This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it!”

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sherrie said,

    AAh! How well I remember the bird nest! (Yes, I too, as pregnant at the time as I am sure you remember!) Don’t we just love those quiet days when we get just the tiniest break from the mothering. Don’t worry – you know it won’t last long!

  2. 2

    Gam said,

    Hi Star,
    I am your newest reader.
    Gam


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

