Weekend in Review

I have not dropped off the face of the earth!  I have had the best intentions of writing but just haven’t made it.  So, in the interest of updating on my very exciting life, here is what has been going on around here.

Friday was supposed to be a regular school day, but my friend’s children were out of school for fall break so we did school for a couple of hours in the morning and then made it a park day (that counts as P.E. right?).  The kids had a ball although it was INCREDIBLY hot for October (close to 90 degrees, I think).  We have a great new playground at the park so they had fun on that, Daddy met us for a picnic, the boys skated on the hockey rink and the girls swang and swang and swang.  At one point a school bus of school children converged on the park, we did pretty good at avoiding the crowd but as my friend, T, was pushing the boys on the tire swing, the school children began getting closer and closer and closer.  She finally decided she would just have our kids get off so no one got hurt and told them that it was time to give someone else a turn, and that is all it took.  Twenty children all attacked the swing at once, trapping our boys so they couldn’t even get off.  Poor T didn’t know what to do, she managed to help the boys out of the crowd before they were completely mauled but by that time one of the teachers had come to the rescue!  Our children decided soon after that they were ready to go home!  T ended up letting my whole crew go home with her for a couple of hours so I headed home solo.  Our plans for the night were to get the pool vaccuumed one last time because our new cover finally came in so we had a friend coming Saturday to help us install it.  I decided to be helpful and while the kids were gone go ahead and get that done, besides, I already smelled like a beast so “no better time than the present, right?  I have to admit that I just about wore myself out.  I was so tired when I came in, but Tigerfan was soooo appreciative AND he rewarded me with chocolate and a 20 oz. Diet Coke and really, anything is worth that!  The boys were anxious to get in their beds because I had told them they could play on their DS’s for a little while, so at 8:00 on a Friday night, the children PUT THEMSELVES TO BED!  Dancer stayed up a little longer and attacked and wrestled her daddy for a little while and thoroughly enjoyed having him all to herself, but she was worn out and didn’t last long and by 8:30 they were all in bed.  Tigerfan and I enjoyed our snack and we turned in pretty early too knowing he had to get up early and start the pool covering process.

Saturday morning, we expected our friend at 8:00 a.m.  He had told us it would take about 2 hrs to install the cover and baseball boy had a ballgame at 10:30 so we knew it would be close.  Well, he got to our house at 9:00.  Needless to say, I took baseball boy to the game without Daddy.  However, he managed to hit a homerun!!!!!  I would love to tell you all about it, but I MISSED IT!  I missed my child’s homerun sitting right there talking to my friend.  All of a sudden someone said, “S, did you see it, your boy just got a homerun!”  People, I did not even know my child was batting, oh. the horror!  Of course, as any good mother, I ran up and congratulated him and did not let on at all that I had missed the whole thing–I couldn’t tell him that!  We called Daddy to tell him and when we got home, Daddy wanted the whole story.  Which I couldn’t tell him.  Because I MISSED IT!  But, again as any good, loving, supportive mother would, I downplayed it saying I was pretty sure it was a run on errors, yada, yada, yada.  I found out from the other coach this morning that it was indeed a true home run.  My child hit a linedrive down the middle and scored a homerun and in case I have not expressed it, I MISSED IT! 

We got home around noon, and the cover installation was still in progress (2 hours???).  By 1:00, they were through and we began cleaning up so the kiddos could go to Nana’s and Tigerfan and I could begin our Christmas shopping (Yeah!)

I had the boys write out their lists and we were ready to hit the stores by a little before 4:00.  We picked up a few things at Walmart, went to eat a sandwich, and then got serious.  We were able to purchase THE BIG GIFT which I cannot mention in case little eyes were to find this blog post.  This was a huge reief to me because I had heard this item was going to be hard to get your hands on this year and I am worrying enough without having to search for this.  However, we ran into another little problem, so if the three people who read this have some input, feel free to give us advice.  Out oldest (10 yrs) asked for 2 playmobil sets.  He truly does love them and plays with the ones he has all the time.  However, they are big and expensive and about to take over the bedroom.  His little brother also asked for one.  That would be three sets for any math challenged people out there.  One of Football boy’s requests was a playmobil airplane (which we already have one of—but THIS one is different).  He also asked for a huge army airplane and a lego airplane (from different people, but still…)  So, what child needs that much playmobil or that many enormous airplanes with which to play?  We have tried to explain that he is getting older and he might lose interest in those toys soon and maybe we could invest in something a little more practical like an IPod (that is a great gift, right) or a stereo for his room.  But, no!  If he cannot get the playmobil all he wants is a laptop computer of his very own (because you know we have a money tree growing in the back yard) or a cell phone (because every 10 year old boy who is homeschooled and never away from his parents for more than an hour or two and never away from phone service NEEDS a cell phone).  I hate to dissappoint him, but I hate to spoil him with more “stuff” that is not necessary and even a little wasteful in my opinion.  So, that is our ongoing dilemma right now.  Any thoughts?

We had church this morning, a baseball game this afternoon that was soooo incredibly ugly it doesn’t even need mentioning, and are getting ready to head back to church tonight.  It has been a busy weekend but pretty nice other than the ride to church this morning when football boy was so mad at us because we informed him he will not be getting a laptop or a cellphone.  Tomorrow is supposed to be a regular day, but we will probably have T’s kiddos over for there last day of fall break so, who knows.  At the rate we are going, we will not finish this school year until next August, but boy will we have fun!

Gotta run, get everyone ready to head back to town, hope everyone has a great week and I will definitely be a better poster this week.  I have to keep my three fans happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

