Hormones, They Aren’t Just For Girls Anymore

It is funny how quickly things can change.  Today began pretty good.  School was going well.  Nana and Papaw had given us leftovers from a church supper they had so we had a relatively healthy lunch that I didn’t have to fix.  We had had a pretty smooth day.  My Bible study, and interestingly my morning devotion, this morning were about temptation and that verse we all know but no one really likes about “no temptation has seized you except what is common to man….” but really it was convicting because the temptation I most often succumb to is yelling, losing my temper with the children.  So I had a little heart to heart with God asking him to help me be “slow to anger” and “kind and compassionate”and things were going well.

Until after lunch and something happened, I am not sure what.  I will say I think it is directly related to the fact that football boy has slept on our bedroom floor for about 2 weeks now.  Ordinarily this is a warning that an ear infection is in the very near future but so far he has insisted he has no symptoms so why we have a nightly visitor I do not know but either he is losing sleep or he has some woman like hormones that need some serious looking into.

I think I mentioned last night that we had a melt down over going to Fazoli’s for supper.  I knew he wanted to eat somewhere else, but truly, we have been eating there quite regularly for about 2 or 3 years now with nary a complaint until last night when you would have thought we asked him to slaughter a family pet or something.  I am telling you–the tears, the drama–over a bowl of spaghetti!

We got another view of that today when despite the fact that school seemed to be going well, everthing fell apart about 2:00.  I mean, we are talking balled fists (his not mine), crocodile tears, sobbing over a couple of misspelled words and a couple of missed vocabulary.  Now if he was a teenage girl (or a 35 year old pregnant woman) we would chalk it up to hormones and move on (probably with a little chocolate mixed in for good measure) but when it is a 10 year old boy, what do you do?  I feel certain this has to be related to sleep, so as any good mother would, I have threatened him within an inch of his life if he gets out of bed and comes to my room tonight. 

As if this weren’t enough, I then spent an hour locked in a room with 10 wild sixth graders who had nothing to do.  By the time I got to Bible Study and listened to Beth Moore reading about God telling the Israelites to go on to the Promised Land, He would feed them, protect them, wipe out their enemies, etc. but He would not go with them because they were a “stiff necked people” and if He went he might destroy them in the blink of an eye, I wanted to stand up and scream AMEN!

Anyway, all the children are in bed now (their own at the moment) and things are calm and quiet!  Hopefully a good night sleep will be had by all and all the emotional outbursts tomorrow will be mine.  Until then, I will leave you with the last words I left Football boy with tonight:  “Goodnight.  Sleep Well. and STAY OUT OF MY ROOM!”

Leave a Reply

