As promised, I wanted to tell of our adventures at Camp Bluebird.  Camp Bluebird is a camp for adult cancer patients to come and be “pampered” for a couple of days.  The TelecomPioneers help sponsor the event and since Tigerfan is the local president this year, he has begun attending as a counselor.  This was his third trip and I think he likes it more every time.  He wanted me to go this time but with homeschooling, teaching at the tutorial and being 31 weeks pregnant I felt this was maybe not the best time and so we decided to just go visit on Wednesday night.  This year was the twentieth year of the camp and so it was all about remembering.  Each camp, Wednesday night entertainment is reserved for campers (and counselors) to do skits, readings, etc.  Tigerfan came home last time telling how much fun it was, so that is when we chose to go.  And indeed it was fun!  We ate supper with the campers (It was supposed to be a cookout, but several days of non-stop rain drove them inside!)  Then we headed up for the entertainment.  The kids enjoyed it so much and many of the people there later told Tigerfan how much they enjoyed watching the kids get so tickled with all the silliness.  The only bad part of the evening was that the skits did not end until about 9:30 and we had and hour drive home and tutorial Thursday morning!  After the skits, the kids got to help draw names for door prizes so they felt really big!  It was a really great experience and all the campers Told Tigerfan how much they enjoyed having his family there so maybe this will become a bi-annual event for us!

On a completely unrelated note:

I thought I was getting okay at this whole blogging thing until last night when I got on the computer to type my blog and realized that the blog I typed two or three days ago I had never even published.  I went ahead and published it last night–I wonder if this is an indication of the brain cells I have already lost or those that I am destined to lose in the next year as we learn to adjust to baby #4.  I realized with great fear and trepidation yesterday as my nurse measured my belly at 32 weeks that that is just 3 weeks before dancer girl decided to join us in the world.  That is a scary thought, because we are not ready!  I know these injections are supposed to prevent that, but it is still a little unsettling to know how soon it could potentially be.  I guess we should get prepared.

On a third and final unrelated note:

In case anyone is wondering, last night I solved the age old mystery of whether or not it is possible to overdose on peanut M&M’s.  The answer is an astounding YES, yes it is.  And people, it is not pleasant.  I am telling you this as a friendly and loving warning.  When you feel you have had enough, even if there are a few left in the bag, STOP EATING!  I know what you are thinking, how much harm can one more handful do?  It is such a waste to put those tiny few M&M’s back in the cabinet.  It will just make you mad the next time you try to eat them because there is really not enough to satisfy a full blown chocolate craving.  I have used all these rationalizations myself, unfortunately, I used them all last night and while they seem so rational, they just are not true.  It can harm you, friends!  Aside from the extra poundage around the waste, it can be a cruel and awful experience.  Without going into any gory details, let me just say, I slept sat in our green recliner last night.  That was after about two hours of sheer torture lying in bed revisiting those last handfuls over and over and over.  I never thought I would utter these words, but I have absolutely no desire to eat another peanut M&M until at least next Thursday night!  Please, take my advice and be responsible with your M&M consumption.  Someday, you will thank me for this warning–it comes with the wisdom of experience!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    tquack said,

    two questions #1 was vomiting involved and #2 are you ready and willing to start on a new bag of M&M’s next week?

  2. 2

    Pops said,

    I am working on Hershey’s kisses. I am sure they are not nearly as hard on you. One bag is regular and the other is carmel. You may say be careful but I say nay, nay. Give it your best shot to eat both bags at one sitting then tomorrow you can avoid the calories.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

