Tigerfan took half of the day off today so we could work on the Christmas list.  We took the kiddos to Nana and Papaw and headed off with lists in hand.  Lists that are, by the way, changing on a daily basis.  Now that certain items have been purchased, I am going to  have to forbid them from watching television commercials, browsing toy aisles or fingering through catalogues until Christmas is over!!!

Anyway, we were moving along, making good time when we found ourselves at Target.  We looked around, made our purchases and were leaving when I heard someone calling my name.  I turned around to see a very cute young lady walking toward me.  At first I had no idea who she was, and then it dawned on me.  She was a girl I had taught many years ago when she was in fifth grade.  In fact, she attended my wedding the summer after I taught her.  I have seen her a few times since and even remember her telling me she was getting married a while back, but somehow she just looked so grown up!  I remember when my first group of students graduated high school.  I felt so old.  How could I have taught children who were now graduating high school?  And then, they started to get married and I thought, how could I have taught children who are old enough to get married?  And then, I had some who  have had babies and again I thought how could it be?  But tonight…..tonight this girl looked at me, grinned from ear to ear and announced that she is expecting a baby… just like me!  Tonight I thought, how can I be expecting a baby at the same time as the little girl I taught in fifth grade?  Now that is something to think about!  I will be changing diapers with someone I taught to divide.  I will be experiencing motherhood with the girl who I helped guide through her first “boyfriend” experience.  My child could play on the playground with the child of someone whose mother used to call me on a regular basis to break up playground arguments.  I just can’t seem to wrap my mind around it.  I just know one thing.  I am too old for this!  Just ask one of my former 5th graders!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aimee said,

    Hello, OneMoreEqualsFour! I just read your comment on my blog…..My patterns are for the beginner also. If you send me your email address I will gladly bless you with my pattern and if you have any problems with sewing one then please email me and I will walk you threw it!!
    In Christ,
    Aimee’

  2. 2

    Aimee said,

    I forgot to give you my email address: sewsensible@cox.net


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

