And Waiting…

We had such a busy day yesterday!  I had told the kids we would go light on school and heavy on “Home Ec” because we normally bake goodies for Daddy’s office and we hadn’t done it this year.  I am hoping we are running out of time before baby’s arrival so Monday was the day.  We made fudge, candy cane puffs, chocolate revel bars, peppermint bark, Oreo truffles, and coconut chocolate chip macaroons!  Oh, the chocolatey goodness!  The kids loved crushing the candy canes and actually were quite helpful!  It was pretty fun.  We have a few more goodies to make but we just ran out of time so they will have to wait.

Dancer had her last ballet lesson before Christmas so we headed out for that and then rushed back home to get baseball boy ready for basketball practice.  We scrounged around for something to eat and sent Tigerfan and B.B. off.  Football Boy had a little homework to finish and I finished the baking and then we began getting ready for baths.  Dancer wanted me to fill her tub really high and I told her I couldn’t because F.B. needed hot water to take a shower.  She convinced him to just take a fast bath with her so she could have lots of water.  So, in they climbed and began a discussion about the jets.  None of my kids have ever liked the jets so in four years in this house, I am not sure they have ever been turned on, but for some reason last night they decided they wanted to try them out.  In my infinite wisdom, I agreed.  I turned on the switch and the bubbles came to life!  Followed very closely behind by four years of goop, mildew, hair, and other disgusting build-up that has been lurking in those jets!  Both children SCREAMED and jumped out of the tub as it instantly turned to a brown mucky mess!  F.B. was okay, I told him he could get a shower in a little bit when the water warmed back up but poor Dancer had already got shampoo in her hair and it had to be rinsed.  So I wrestled her into an ice cold shower and rinsed her head as she wrestled and screamed at the top of her lungs!  The rest of her “bath” consisted of a rub down with wet wipes and a good toweling off. 

When I finally got her calmed and settled, I went back to the tub.  By this time all the water had drained and all that was left was four years of brown yuck slimed all over the surface of the entire tub, because, of course I had filled it really high!  And so, the scrubbing began.  I got the Comet with bleach and a rag and began cleaning which wasn’t too bad as long as I was on the side close to me.  However, cleaning the far side of a rather large whirlpool when you have a belly the size of mine was not quite so easy.  Really, all I could do was laugh at the absurdity of it all and what I must have looked like as I stretched and contorted my oversized self to clean that tub! 

Why am I telling you this?  Because, it is proof.  There is NOTHING—NOTHING short of medical intervention, I feel sure, that is going to coax this child out of me!  He is warm and it must be very peaceful and quiet in there and he isn’t going anywhere if it is up to him!  Dogs cannot get him out, exploding bath tubs cannot get him out, stretching membranes–no, walking, running, jumping–no.  Not a full moon, not bad weather, not spicy foods!  So please, I am begging you.  Tomorrow I have a Dr. appointment in which the sweet man has offered to induce IF labor and delivery is not too crowded.  Say a little prayer, pray for the precious women already there that they will give birth–SOON.  Pray for those thinking about going, pray for those Dr.’s and nurses working so hard!  Pray they will CLEAR OUT because I want a room and some pitocin TOMORROW!  Is that really so much to ask????

 I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

