It’s a Conspiracy

I need to lose weight!  I would like to say it is just a few lingering baby pounds but the truth is they are lingering from baby number 3, not baby number 4.  You will find me very romantic to know that I gave Tigerfan a set of scales for Valentine’s Day–can’t you feel the love?  Truly, though, we both could stand to lose a few pounds (okay, I could stand to lose about 30 pounds, DON’T JUDGE ME!) so we have been talking about dieting a lot lately.  That is all we have been doing.  Talking.  Usually at 9:00 at night while drinking hot chocolate and eating cookies.  But the idea is there!  At first I had the excuse that I was recovering from pregnancy and I did get on the treadmill.  Once.  I have also done crunches.  Twice.  I really can no longer use the pregnancy excuse.  Baby is 7 weeks old so it is time to get busy!  However, I have concluded that Hershey’s, M&M’s/Mars, and probably a few other large companies along with their retail counterparts do not want me to lose this weight!  It all began with Christmas goodies.  Red and Green chocolates, bell shaped candy, etc.  I buy them for the candy dish, for stockings, to bake with and the house is full of chocolate deliciousness.  And then Christmas is over and the candy goes on sale.  Who can resist chocolate for 50-75% off?  We then begin birthday season beginning Jan. 1 with Papaw then Dancer, Tigerfan, and Nana all during the month of January which of course requires cakes, desserts at restaurants and treats in treat bags.  All this ends just in time for Valentines Day where I again must run out and purchase Holiday themed chocolates to show my undying love to my precious children who will completely ignore the candy after a couple of days while I eat a piece (or ten) each time I walk by.  I again resolve to lose weight and resist the lure of chocolate only to walk into any retail establishment to find them offering the lovely sweetness at bargain prices.  Why?  Because they are clearing their shelves to make room for EASTER CANDY!  Is it any wonder that I, a woman of little to no will power cannot seem to even begin a diet?  I think Weight Watchers must own stock in Hershey’s.  It is just wrong, people, it is wrong!

On the subject of weight loss.  I have begun reading a book by Liz Curtis Higgs called “One Size Fits All and other Fables”.  It talks about the futility of dieting and that while we should try to take care of our bodies and be healthy we should also just learn to accept our bodies (and others’) the way they are and live a happy life no matter what our size.  This is so much easier said than done.  It is so hard not to compare yourself with everyone else in a room or look at yourself in a mirror and wish you could just fix….  Well, I have read several chapters of the book today and wondered how to get to that point of acceptance.  Knowing God created me in a “fearful and wonderful way” and loving myself instead of trying to convince God he must have made a mistake is soooo hard.  So, we were playing hooky from church tonight (still trying to keep the baby away from too many people–flu season, you know) and decided to watch Extreme Home Makeover together.  This is one of the few shows on T.V. anymore that just makes you feel good to watch.  They were redoing a house for a family where the oldest child, Patrick Henry, was born without eyes and without the ability to straighten his limbs.  As a result, he is, of course, blind and unable to walk.  When the family came out of the house, this 19 year old young man smiled from ear to ear and just endeared himself to everyone.  One of the team members asked how he could be so outgoing and happy with his disabilities and he responded that he didn’t think of himself as disabled.  He thinks sighted people have the disability because we tend to judge people the moment we see them, but he can only judge the inside, because he cannot see the outside.  I found that so profound.  I judge not only others by what I see, but myself, I am constantly comparing myself to others around me.  Am I the fattest, the worst dressed, the loudest (the comparisons are never positive) and automatically assume that those people see me the way I imagine myself.  What a blessing to not ever have to worry or judge based on sight.  How amazingly blessed that young man is to see his situation as a blessing and make the best of it.  He is not paralyzed by his disabilities, rather he is an inspiration.  I will definitely be trying to implement his ability to accept people for who they are inside and not judge by the outside appearance.

In other random thoughts, as you can see, I am still finding it incredibly difficult to sit down and blog.  I enjoy the times I do and the closeness to friends and family but feel frustrated at my failure to be consistent.  Bear with me,  I am trying.  Anyway, in the last week and a half since I last posted we have hung curtains in our bedroom!  Not life changing, I know, but for the first time in 12 1/2 years of marriage, I have curtains in my room!  How exciting.  AND, they look great if I do say so myself.  We have also purchased a new (used) car.  We have moved up to a small bus ( a Yukon XL) in order to accommodate our ever growing family and have room to go to LA with Nana and Papaw or pick up Nana Croc and Pops from the airport.  I have now driven my busvehicle twice and have not hit anything or run over any small children yet, so,  Yeah me!  I have purchased material and cut out the pattern for a spring outfit for Dancer and am looking for fabric for an Easter basket and skort.  However, at the rate I am going those will have to be for next Easter!  🙂  Aimee, from Sewsensible has a new website with the patterns and some night when Tigerfan can help me, I am going to include a little link thing (do I startle you with my technical knowledge?) to it. Science Fair has ended and we all survived and all that is left is for me to take my winners to our regional Fair.  Until next year.  When we do it all again.  Why do we torture ourselves?  I guess that is about all the news from our home-front.  I will post again.  Sometime.  Until then remember you ARE “fearfully and wonderfully made”. 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Pops said,

    We watched Extreme Home Makeover as well. I cried a lot. I have been doing that a lot lately. Like when I read your last blog. However I laughed through most of this one and had some chocolate, 4 crackers with your mothers home made strawberry jelly, and a diet pepsi as I felt your pain. Your mom wants to know what color is the Yukon. She also wants to know why I keep laughing but I just tell her she has to read it herself. I am trying to increase your circulation. Acording to your statistics if I can get her to read it that will increase you circulation by 25%. That would look pretty good on a resume.
    Ima Luva, Luva, Luva, you all.

  2. 2

    tquack said,

    every time I have self esteem issues I think of calling you and you telling me the exact same thing that I am “fearfully and wonderfully made” and that God “knit me together”… so thank you for helping all of us to remeber it is God we are here to plaese and no one else! By the way I think I am having sympathy post partum still or again because I cried all the way through this blog and I cried because I missed extreme make over home edition. But have no fear I do plan on catching “my Red Neck Wedding” and hopeful I will stay dry eyed through that ( I think the possibilities are good!)

  3. 3

    Aimee said,

    I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I am fearfully and wonderfully made…… Ok, can we say this while eating the silverbells??


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

