Multi-tasking

Sigh! I am tired!  I know, I am supposed to be tired–I have a newborn.  I think I just did not realize how tired I would be.  It seems that no matter how much sleep I get, I want more and sleep is a precious commodity these days.  My sweet baby boy started life sleeping 4-5 hours at night.  He curbed that a little and has been going about 3 hours at a time.  Until this week.  Now, 2 1/2 hours!  Ugh!  On the upside,  Football boy has slept ALL night the last four nights–he hasn’t even gotten up to turn on the light in his room.  That is a huge blessing.  I truly love the guy, but in the middle of the night when you are startled awake by a dark figure standing over you staring silently, it kind of makes you want to do something, well, unkind!  When it happens several times a night, you actually begin planning the unkind actions ahead of time. So, the fact that he is not getting up every night is a blessing!

You can probably tell by my consistent lack of consistency in blogging that I am still having trouble getting it all together.  I can say proudly that I have managed to get all my children to tutorial with me fully clothed for 3 weeks!  I think they have even eaten breakfast most of those days!  That is about all I can brag about.  I left my purse at home Tuesday, I forget everything (including the names of my children), and I begin tasks all over the house, begin something else and never complete the first.  In fact just before sitting down to type this, I walked by the kitchen garbage to find the bathroom basket turned upside down on top.  You see, Thursdays I compile all the garbage for Tigerfan to take to the dump on Friday, so I had begun emptying the garbage, apparently gotten sidetracked and thus the basket was still in the other garbage can.  I found the toilet brush in the bathroom garbage where I had apparently begun cleaning, gotten sidetracked and when a child needed to use “the facilities” he must have removed the brush from the commode and placed it in the garbage can!  I have left Dancer’s school bag in the car twice…once on the day we traded it in on another vehicle.  The next day Tigerfan had to go to the car lot to retrieve it!  I keep thinking I will get it together soon but I am beginning to have my doubts.  I cut out a pattern to make Dancer an outfit, that is as far as I got, when I got ready to sew it, I realized I forgot to buy thread!

They say multi-tasking actually makes you more tired and that it causes more stress and you get less done.  I am beginning to believe that.  I was playing with Dancer the other day and she said several things that cracked me up.  In my mind, I was typing all the funny stuff into a blog and thought to myself I should write this down.  We were playing school, so I suggested I go get some paper to write my lessons on.  By the time I got back, I had forgotten what I was going to write–but believe me if I remembered you would be cracking up right now!

The baby is crying so I must go but I did just remember one Dancerism to leave you with.  We were flipping channels the other day and came across a show with the dancers from “Dancing With The Stars”  Dancer began watching, intrigued by the sparkly clothes the girls were wearing.  While we watched one of the couples began performing dancing down some stairs.  Dancer’s response:  “Wow!  That is a LOT of booty shaking going on!”

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Aimee said,

    That is so funny! I told someone the other day, I used to be so smart before my kiddos arrived and now I feel like I am missing alot of brain cells!! I forget what I am talking about while I am talking!!!!! I will say though, it was REAL bad right after I birthed Grace and Elijah and now some seem to be coming back…..but not all of them!! Can someone find those brain cells and tell them to please come home!!!!! LOL

    Good to hear another Mommy going through some of the stuff I am going through!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

