Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie Challenge

Firstly, let me just say, I completely realize the futility of offering up this challenge do to the, well lets just say reader challenged condition of this blog.  And yet, I feel somehow compelled to press on. 

I am a Food TV junkie.  One of my favorite new shows is the Ultimate Recipe Showdown in which contestants compete in three related categories (i.e. cookies) and then the winners of each of the categories go head to head for the ultimate winner.

Recently there was an episode where the challenge was cookies.  The categories were chocolate chip, spice, and bars.  The winning chocolate chip cookie was Radical Rob’s Chocolate Chip Cookies with a score of 99.  He was actually beat out by the spice cookie (something that totally perplexes me because how can a spice cookie ever beat out a cookie with chocolate…but I digress).  Anyway, totally unlike me, I actually decided to try a recipe I had seen on the show…I got online and found the recipe and read the reviews…Fantastic.  Okay, there were a few negative reviews but mostly they were because the website had a typo and people were using 2 cups of sugar instead of 1/2 cup sugar and ending up with extremely sweet, rock hard cookies.  Most of the reviews using the correct recipe were astoundingly positive with many people saying they were throwing away their old recipes and this was their one and only recipe from now on!  Sooooo, I had to try it.

Now, I was raised on what I consider to be the world’s best C.C. cookie.  We make it around here with alarming frequency.  Tigerfan, however, is not a huge fan because my recipe has oatmeal in it which he does not love.  So, when I found this new recipe to replace all recipes I thought I had found the answer.  A C.C. cookie that was so delicious I would throw out my old recipe and Tigerfan would love as well because it did not have oatmeal.  Dancer and I were ready and prepared the cookies Friday night to take with us on the trip to pick up F.B. from his cruise.  The recipe was fairly simple and we had them whipped up in no time.  We packed them up and put them in the car and Saturday morning, when we got the snacking urge…out they came!  They were, well, mediocre!  Even Tigerfan agreed.  Now, they had one thing especially going against them and that is that the recipe called for milk chocolate chips.  I am a milk chocolate girl, but in a cookie, I prefer semi-sweet.  I haven’t given up on this recipe–it has potential.  When I try it again, I will use semi-sweet chips and probably use salted butter and maybe even add a little more salt.

So, here is the challenge.  Try both recipes and tell me which one you prefer.  My old, family recipe or Radical Rob’s.  I really want to know.  Am I just loyal to my recipe or is Radical Rob’s not as radical as it claims.

Here is my recipe:

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 1/2 cups flour                                                     1/2 tsp water

1 tsp. soda                                                              2 eggs

1 tsp. salt                                                                2 cups oatmeal

1 cup shortening                                                    1 pkg. semi sweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Sift together flour, soda, and salt.  In separate bowl cream shortening, sugars, vanilla, and water.  Add eggs.  Add dry ingredients and mix well.  Add oatmeal and mix.  Mix in chocolate chips.  Drop by teaspoon onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake 10-12 minutes.

You can find Radical Rob’s recipe here.  Just remember it is only 1/2 cup sugar, not 2 cups!

Happy baking and let me know what you think!

 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I am printing out your recipe NOW. My fav cookie of all times in a choco/oatmeal. My mouth is watering now.

  2. 2

    Happy Mommy said,

    My favorite recipe is so easy I have to share…
    1 box butter cake mix
    1 stick butter
    Mix it really well and then add what ever kind of chips you like, I too like semi sweet.
    Now pat it in a 9×13 pan pre-sprayed with non-stick, and bake for 20-25 min at 350.
    Now when everyone tells you how wonderful they are please tell them you got the recipe from
    Happy Mommy!

  3. 3

    Happy Mommy said,

    Oh you won’t believe what I did, I gave you a recipe, the one I called my favorite, and I forgot to tell you one of the ingredients,
    so let me try this again.
    1 box of butter cake mix
    1egg
    1stick of butter
    And follow the rest of the comment above.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

