All in a Weekend’s Work

Wow!  What a weekend!  It will be easiest to cover it in list format.

1.  Friday some of our friends were out of school for Teacher Appreciation Day.  My children should appreciate me, so we took the day off, too and hung out with them.  They have a trampoline (something I have tried to get my kids to ask for for Christmas because, frankly, I want one) and the weather was pretty but threatening rain, so they jumped for awhile and headed inside.  I got some much needed adult conversation and the kids played to their hearts’ content.  Eventually they headed back outside to jump.  We were enjoying our mommy time and not paying much attention until one of the boys came up to the door drenched.  It was POURING down rain and the kids were having a ball jumping in it.  We discussed whether or not to let them stay out and finally decided they were making great memories and they were already wet so we let them continue.  I took soaking boys home, but it was worth every minute.

2.  In a second of totally out of the ordinary organization, I had pre-made a lasagna before going a visitin’ so I just had to throw it in the oven when we got home.  We enjoyed a lovely dinner together and then Dancer began complaining of a tummy ache.  I chalked it up to a day of eating junkfood and didn’t think much about it until 1:00 a.m. and 3:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. (I think you get the picture).  She ended up with a full blown tummy bug that lasted two full days.  Poor baby could not keep anything in her!  This was truly a problem for her but I suggested it might be helpful for Baby boy who seems to be having some p**ping issues.  It began with him producing only on Sundays and Thursdays (you think I kid, but I do not!).  The days then changed to Tuesday and Friday.  This last Tuesday was VERY productive and we thought we were, perhaps making progress but the poor rascal has not gone since!  (Yes, I am fully aware that this is a case of way too much information!)

3.  Baseball boy had a ballgame Saturday morning at 9:00 which would have been fine except Tigerfan was in the woods (yes, he is the coach but it is turkey season and one must have priorities, really), my MIL had obligations at church and I had a sick child.  So, I took Dancer to the bathroom (precautionary) loaded up all four kidlets and headed to the ballpark.  I dropped off B.B. and headed back home.  The other coach brought him home with great news!  We now have won THREE games.  B.B. claims he got the winning hit (I have to believe him)!  Truly, the whole importance of the hits is cold, hard cash!

4.  Sunday, Tigerfan stayed home with Dancer while I took the rest of the clan to church.  We ate lunch with Nana and Papaw and returned to the infirmary.  Dancer was starting to perk up.  Tigerfan was working on a power point presentation for a class he started teaching tonight and I had kid duty.  We played Simon Says, Quiet Mouse, Still Mouse, Noah’s Ark, etc. until I was gamed out and suggested the children watch a little T.V.  This delighted Football boy who was wandering around the house like a lost sheep because he could not get on the computer to play–what is technology doing to our children? 

5.  Finally, things were getting back to normal, we prepared for a better night sleep but Baby was not to be forgotten.  He spent many hours last night reminding us he was there.  In our room.  Demanding attention.  Loudly.  And Shrilly (this word made since in my head–it did not transfer to type well).  HOWEVER on a semi positive note, during one of his bigger fits in the wee hours of the morning he learned to turn over!  My little boy genius, only 3 1/2 months!  He is quite pleased with his new found skill and has practiced all day.  He keeps turning on his tummy to sleep so now my sleepless nights will be because I feel compelled to get up and make sure his head is not buried in the bed!

6.  I realized, sadly last night that I do not smile and laugh like I used to.  I am too stressed out, so I committed today to be more laid back.  I got up and walked on the tread mill this morning.  I read extra chapters in our read aloud book at breakfast and didn’t freak out when we did not officially start school at 8:00 a.m.  (The book is called “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane” and it is adorable!).  We finished early.  Okay, well we didn’t do Spelling, Latin, Spanish…you get the picture but I did get all the laundry finished, scrubbed the bathrooms, etc.  My kids might not have a good education, but my house will be clean!  We then had dance, which we got to and Dancer decided her tummy hurt.  So, we skipped dance, went to the grocery store (and may I say that I would rather have all my teeth pulled out without medication than take four children to the grocery store), got gas and returned home.  I went to the store without a list so I came home with 2 packages of brownies, oreos, 4 bags of chips, a cake mix, kool aid drinks, peanut butter and honey…you get the picture.  And when I got home at 6:00 with a baby who wanted to eat two hours earlier, with groceries to put away, dinners to fix, a science project to do with Football boy, baths to get to and ironing to do, what did I do?  make chocolate chip cookies from a recipe Happy Mommy gave me.  Because, again, I am all about priorities.  The cookies, by the way are quite good and super simple!

Are you as tired of reading as I am of typing?  Four Little Penguins left me a comment today saying she wished I would post more often.  Frankly, I do to.  I just have this pesky time management problem.  I really need an intervention people.  I wish that I had never discovered blog stats because I stress all the time about the need to post so my 9 loyal readers will not abandon me.  I think of posts all day long, but I often just run out of day and lose my thoughts before I type them.  I read other blogs like We Are THAT Family who has been blogging about the same length of time as me and get a little envious (ooo, our pastor preached on that Sunday) that they have so many readers and so many commenters and so many posts!  It is like being in high school again and trying to win that elusive popularity.  And yet, I did not start blogging to gain a following so I am trying, please bear with me.  I will post eventually, and maybe eventually I will get back to daily posts, until then remember, if you do not hear from me, I am ignoring my own advice, multi tasking too much, and striving to get organized enough to not be quite so flighty.  AND, just because I am ignoring my own blog–I am not ignoring you, my children may go without a meal but I will check in with my faves every day.  There is nothing wrong with that, right? 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aimee said,

    I have the same problems with blog maintenance (and we both have 4 children and babies who are about the same age — coincidence? I think not 🙂

    I can think of good things to post all day long, but when I finally get a large enough chunk of time to post, I am so tired that all of my thoughts have disappeared. I’ve tried writing the thoughts down on little scraps of paper so I can remember them, but that’s not been working too well. I either lose the paper or I can’t understand my notes and what I wanted to write about.

    Oh well – the hazards of being a Mom blogger,I guess. Kudos to those who can keep up with it 🙂

  2. 2

    Happy Mommy said,

    I’m so glad you liked the cookies! I made them last night with chopped up snickers bars instead of chips. I also add peanut butter sometime and thats really good too.
    It sounds like you all had a long weekend!

  3. 3

    I hope you understand that my comment was meant to encourage and not to pressure? I enjoy reading what you have to say. 🙂 Keep up the good work! And I feel the same way about readership. sigh. DH looked at me as though I was insane the first time I excitedly informed him that someone I didn’t know before I started blogging had actually put me on their blogroll! Whoohoo! And now I think 3 people have. I just feel sooooo cool! 😉


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

