Just Passing Through!

There is so much I need to be doing right now.  My house is a disaster.  My laundry is backed up.  The children have school work I need to make them do.  I could fix supper or pack for a short trip we will take tomorrow.  Instead, I am sitting at the computer!  I miss all of you out there in blog land.  This week has gotten so bad that I haven’t even got to read some of my favorite blogs!  Help me, someone!!!  I just do not know how to get everything done.  The harder I try, the farther behind I get!  Do not even suggest stepping away from the computer–that would just be ridiculous!

On a happy note, I took Baby for his 4 month checkup yesterday.  He hasn’t gained much weight  and he has not been nursing very well.  Dr. gave me the okay to swap to formula (I think I will do half and half) and to start cereal.  Guess what, Jr. slept 7 hours straight last night and most of the morning this morning.  I think I have been starving the little guy!  Well, no more!  We are gonna fatten him up and get him sleeping through the night–oh yes we are!

Finally, and yes I am fully aware of the lack of entertainment in this post–I am just trying to stay afloat here, people, I am doing a Bible Study of 1 and 2 Peter.  Okay, truth be told, I am in a Bible Study class, I haven’t actually done much of the actual studying (DON’T JUDGE ME!!!)  Anyway, yesterday I read these words that just soothed my overtired, overcommited, over guilty soul.  Maybe they will encourage someone else today!

2 Peter 1:3-4

“For His divine power has given us everything required for life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness.  By these He has given us very great and precious promises, so that through them you may share in the divine nature, escaping the corruption that is in the world because of evil desires.”

You see, in my over committed, stressed out life, I have begun to feel very defeated.  I run around half prepared and late to everything and come to a house on the verge of imploding.  I have found myself in the dregs lately feeling like everything was against me.  I have (and am) been unable to cope with house cleaning, school, teaching, church.  Too many things but nothing I can give up.  Bitterness has crept in.  At my husband for being gone too much, at my children for not being compliant enough, at the world for continuing to turn too fast for me to catch my breath.  I know something has to give but where.  The result has been an angry, frustrated, somewhat depressed mom feeling alone and unable to be the christian I should and want to be.  These words are sooooo freeing.  I don’t have to do it all because He already has!  He has already equipped me for everything that is coming my way today and while I might not be able to do it on my own, He will give me the strength to be good and Godly.  it is out of my hands when I put it in his!  Sigh, it feels good to give away a little responsibility!

Now, I wonder if I can find someone to give laundry duty to!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    mommylounge said,

    Just passing through…loved what you had to say. It is hard as a Mom to juggle everything–and you’re right–we aren’t doing it alone. It was helpful for me to hear it in a different perspective. Just from what little experience I have–I know how hard it is in the first few months with a new addition (by the way Congratulations!) but it makes the day go smoother if you just take it easy, be in the moment, and not worry about what you can’t do at that moment. It is more than enough to just be Mommy–and if blogging makes you happy then do it whenever you want! Trust me there is a whole mountain of laundry staring me down–well, actually I hid it behind my curtain in my bedroom!
    Take Care, Kalisha

  2. 2

    Dawn :0) said,

    Very nice reminder that we (I) am not alone in this endeavor called “running a Christ-like marothon”…I really enjoyed previous post.
    We have allot of common ground and I plan on revisiting!
    Nice meeting you, have a great weekend !


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

