What are You Allergic To?

We have begun the infamous week of Vacation Bible School.  I say every year that I am going on vacation during this week to get out of working but I never do.  I always get rooked in to teaching.  I thought I would get an “easy” job this year and not end up doing crafts or preschool so early on I signed up to teach 1st grade.  In our church, that means incoming 1st graders or children who have just completed kindergarten.

This job was supposed to be easy because we only have them in our room for 25 minutes in the morning and 25 minutes at the end.  The rest of the time, we just rotate them around to other teachers.

It began in typical 1st day fashion of complete and utter chaos but we knew today would be a doosy when we began our first project with the few children in the room at the very start.  We were making turtles out of paper bowls.  They were already spray painted.  The children just had to glue on feet, a head and tail and then decorate with tissue paper.  One little boy listened to me explain the project, got up and walked away from the table and declared, “I cannot do that project….I’m allergic to sea turtles!”

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I don’t know how you did it, but you got my oldest son in your class! That is EXACTLY what he would say! rofl

  2. 2

    Carolyn said,

    LOL LOL…that’s funny!
    Enter the contests on my page! 🙂

  3. 3

    Dawn ;0) said,

    Yep~ I’m one of those “drop and run very fast parents” who LOVES VBS!!!
    Although you have to make it there to actually drop off..and this didn’t happen yet?! Thanks for volunteering!

  4. 4

    Aimee said,

    Ha! That is great 🙂 I wonder if my kids would buy it if I said I was allergic to laundry? And dishes? And vacuuming? And meal prep?

    I may have to go live in a bubble to survive! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

