A Letter to the Planners and Writers of VBS

To Whom it may Concern:

I have fond memories of Vacation Bible School as a child.  Fond memories of making match stick crosses, eating graham crackers and Kool-aid and saying the pledge to the Bible and flags.  I remember rousing choruses of B-I-B-L-E and games of tag on the church lawn.  The memories are wonderful.

As an adult, the memories are not so good.  For instance, in the last 3 days alone, I have been kissed on the face, hands, arms, feet, and bottom (yes, I said bottom).  My co-teacher and I have been told we are hated and mean.  I sat through a missions story while a 6 year old continuously blew raspberries on my arm.   We have been hit, kicked, pushed, laid on and even asked if we could be spit on!  But I think I know the problem!  You see, the leaders of VBS are stay at home moms and teachers.  They have either just finished a year at school and have only recently begun to enjoy the peace that is summer or they are entertaining children who are already whining, “I’m bored!”

As a stay at home, homeschooling mom who also teaches at a tutorial, I feel I can represent all these groups.  VBS People, we are tired!

Now, far be it from me to register a complaint without also offering a solution.  I have thought hard about this dilemma and think I have come up with a few viable solutions I would like you to consider.

1.  Vacation Bible Work Week.  A slight variation on the idea of the traditional Bible School in which the children actually accompany a working parent to their job and see first hand “ministry in action”.  A few ideas:  Bible Story will be told on the way to work.  Day 1-David and Goliath Mom/Dad is David bravely facing the Giant of corporate America without even wearing any armor.  Craft-Use thrown out office supplies to make a life size portrait of a Bible Scene.  Recreation/Missions project-spend the day running errands for all the employees.  Make it a challenge by trying to out-do your own time at the pencil sharpener or making paper wads into the waste baskets.

2.  Vacation Bible Camp-This variation includes not the frazzled mother, but the father who would surely love to spend some good, quality time with the children.  Daddies take ALL the children camping–far away.  Imagine the lessons learned from nature about creation, life, etc.  Crafts can include pine cone art, whittling, or any popsicle stick craft (simply substitute real, live sticks for the popsicle variety).  Imagine the ministry you are performing for mom who is sure to have a smile on her face when you return…until she gets the laundry bag.

3.  Vacation Bible time with the youth who need to do something besides text message anyway-This idea can be adjusted for the number and ability of the available youth.  Be sure to first confiscate phones.  Not only will this solve the overworked mother/teacher problem, I feel certain it would also be a fantastic way to encourage youth to go to college, get a good job and wait a few years to start a family!

These are just a few suggestions.  Think about them and let me know what you think!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aimee said,

    Sign my kids up for the Vacation Bible Camp, please 🙂

  2. 2

    Dawn said,

    Were do I sign?!

    Amen sista!

  3. 3

    I’m with you! I’m helping out at ours next week, and I was dreading all this before I even read your post. Times have changed, haven’t they?

  4. 4

    Happy Mommy said,

    Oh I love VBS! Our church doesn’t do one, but if they did I might have to help and then I would probablyy be laid on spit at and so forth. Not missing VBS as much as I thought!

  5. 5

    Amy said,

    For your older students, there is a fun, flag lesson plan at http://create-a-
    flag.com/index.php/educators/

    Enjoy and have a pleasant Summer…spit and all!

    Amy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

