Summertime Supper

Big Mama is having a carnival of sorts at her place looking for summer recipes.  As you all know through my whiningblogging, I am on a diet and have had to revamp my cooking tendencies of late.  If you have looked at the journal, you will notice that it involves A LOT of peanut butter sandwiches.  That would be because I have not yet made it to the store to buy anything else on the approved food list given to my by sparkpeople.com!  Anywhoo, I found this recipe on the sparkpeople website and tried it out.  It is quite good AND although it is a hot meal, it doesn’t heat up the whole house because it is done in the crock pot, which also means that you can cook and swim at the same time–what could be wrong with that?

Slow-Cooker Salsa Chicken

Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 cup salsa

1 package reduced sodium taco seasoning ( I used 1/2 and it was fine)

1 can reduced fat cream of mushroom soup (condensed)

1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream

 

Add chicken to slow cooker.  Sprinkle taco seasoning over chicken.  Pour salsa and soup over chicken.  Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.  Remover from heat and stir in sour cream.  Serve with rice.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aimee said,

    This sounds really good! Thanks 🙂

  2. 2

    Slacker Mom said,

    Hey, we dieters need some help – thanks for sharing a tested recipe!

  3. 3

    Jamie said,

    Thanks for sharing, it sounds yummy!

  4. 4

    Carolyn said,

    Yummy! I love spicy food!

  5. 5

    Lisa said,

    Thank you for this, I made it a couple of months ago when Big Mama did her recipe share thingy. I did not use low fat anything and we served it with rice and then the next day ate it with tortillas. A friend of mine loved it and asked for the recipe so I had to search to find your site again. I’m so lazy sometimes I don’t print the recipes I find on-line, I just move my laptop to the kitchen counter! :o) I’m glad my friend asked me for it—she reminded me how yummy it was!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

