We Now Return to Our Regularly Scheduled Program…

Okay!  Back again after a quick trip to LA for birthdays.  Monday was unpack and grocery shop and do laundry day and yesterday was in the bed with a horrible stomach bug day!  Blah!  But, now I am back and hopefully getting back into a routine  that includes this neglected little blog o’ mine!

Let’s see, a while back I promised a little update on my dieting/fitness.  That was before vacation!  I promised myself I would stay on track, I promised myself I would exercise.  I lied!  I did not exercise, unless you include the 100 thousand miles we walked in 200 degree heat up and down the strip of Las Vegas.  I choose to believe I took care of at least a weeks worth of exercise in that one day!

We got home and I really meant to get back on track!  BUT, I hadn’t been to the grocery store and I had so much unpacking, laundry, and repacking….well, I did not get back on track!  Then I got off to a good start Monday but yesterday, not so much and today I am taking it easy so MAYBE tomorrow.  I have lost a grand total of about 10 pounds and I surely don’t want to start going back up but I am not exactly sure how to get all my workouts in around school starting, etc.  We will just have to see.  Sparkpeople.com has helped me so much.  I have been tracking my nutrition and exercise and it definitely helps to actually see what you are doing in print!

I also promised news about my surprise visit from my grandma.  She is so cute!  For YEARS she ran a day care out of her home and my grandpa was in poor health so she didn’t travel much.  A few years ago she closed the daycare and not long after that my grandpa passed away…and my grandma became a wild woman!  Really, her sister moved from Texas to live with her for awhile and they are just too cute!  They now take a pretty extended trip every year starting in Boise (her home) and extending to TN and TX and many places in between.  They always are so much fun, she has even learned to play poker which I find hilarious!  This year, I had not heard about any trips, she has been having some health issues and I thought they just were not going to make it this year.  Then, one day out of the blue, my dad called and told me that my Great Aunt, my Gammy, and a friend were on the way to my house from their sister’s house a couple of hours away.  They had tried to call but couldn’t get me…I discovered later that they were calling my old phone, that I haven’t had for over a year!  Anyway, after getting lost, a couple of times, they finally made it to my house.  They were only staying a few minutes because they were trying to make time to Little Rock for the night.  My grandma was giving the friend a tour of the house and began telling her about all the changes we had made.  How they had slept in one room and it was really big and not private and we wanted her to have a special place to stay so we moved the staricase and added the living room and now she has her own room to stay in when she comes!  I am honored that she believes that we are so talented that we can move an entire staircase in our house, but that is not exactly how it happened.  We actually just built a wall in the center of one huge (but already existing) room and made it into a bedroom and a library.  We tried to explain that to her friend.   She corrected us.  We tried to explain to her.  She corrected us.  Finally, I just decided to let her believe we moved the staircase…just for her.  Soon, they had to go.  They loaded back up into the car, waved, and backed up…into our mailbox!  No harm was done to either the mailbox or the car, but I must say, I am really looking forward to what the next visit will bring!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Happy Mommy said,

    Grandma’s are great! And you can’t change their mind to easy can you…
    I do some exercising as part of our school day. We start out with sit-ups and pushups.

  2. 2

    Grandmas are such fun! 🙂
    You might try this workout
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/Tiany/560194/
    This is what we are going to do when school starts…
    I read somewhere else though, that it’s best not to try to do the entire alphabet at first, but to work up to it. 🙂

  3. 3

    Dawn said,

    WTG on the loss…keep it up and know that there’s many us on the same track!
    I love my Grandma, but you knew that! LOL!

  4. 4

    KathyA said,

    It’s great to hear about Gammy!!!! I am glad she is having such a great time. I love her!!!!

  5. 5

    Carolyn said,

    How exciting…the weight loss and the visit from grandma! That just had to make your day when she came for a visit! So glad you told us what was going on…I was beginning to wonder where you were! 🙂

  6. 6

    Heather said,

    You had me laughing out loud reading about Gammy. I can so here her going on and on about how thoughful you were to move that staircase. She was here visiting us in TX over her birthday and was quite a hoot! But I can honestly say I think I enjoy the fact that she comes for a viist once or twice a year and then goes home to make our parents CRAZY! (he he he)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

