My Bucket List

Carolyn at Purple Diva’s Diary is running a cute contest.  It is inspired by the movie, “The Bucket List” which I have not seen, probably because if it is not animated or doesn’t come on a certain channel highlighting huge mouse ears, I haven’t seen it!  Anyway, her challenge is to make a list of things you would like to do before you “kick the bucket” so to speak.  She did 13, I am not sure that number is set in stone, but I will go with it because I am not one to buck the system.

Okay, here goes.

1.  I would like to learn to really hear the voice of God and obey.  This stems from the Bible Study I have been doing this summer.  I really want to KNOW God, to KNOW His voice and for people to know me as someone who is totally dedicated to serving him, regardless of how crazy that may seem.

2.  I would like to visit Austria.  I do not know why, but I have heard it is really neat, the people are friendly, and I am fascinated by its history.  This is a little unlike me because I am not one who desires world travel–to many unknown foods!

3.  I want to try some of the different foods I see people cooking with on Food TV but I never buy because I am too cheap to purchase them when I am not sure I would like them.  Things like goat cheese, real olives (not the canned ones!), etc.

4.  I would love to write a book.  When I was young and painfully shy, I would escape into other worlds through reading.  I always said I would write books to encourage teenage girls going through those awkward years.  Now I love to read historical fiction because it helps historical events make sense to me.  I don’t know if I even could write like some of my favorite authors, but someday I would like to try.

5.  I would like to run a Bed and Breakfast.  I am not sure I would want to do this long term, it would be a lifestyle I am not sure I could do forever, but it sounds like something I would love to try.  I found a nice one for sale in St. George, Utah a couple of weeks ago for the bargain price of $990,000 so if anyone has a cool million lying around they would like to loan me, send me an email!

6.  I would also like to run a candy/bakery store.  Dancer also wants to do this.  She has decided on the name the “Yummy Candy Shop” which I find completely appropriate.  I think the biggest drawback to this is the enormous amount of weight I am sure to gain so this might be best left till closer to the end, if you know what I mean!

7.  I want to visit Maine although it will have to be without all the seafood because, YUCK!

8.  I definitely MUST go to Pennsylvania Amish country.  While I am there I would also enjoy the Hershey factory, the Crayola factory…yes, Pennsylvania is a must, maybe I could do a little research while I am there by staying at an Amish B&B!

9.  I want to see my kids graduate from high school and go on to do something productive so that I know the years I have spent homeschooling them have not COMPLETELY warped them!

10.  I want to declutter my house and have EVERY ROOM clean at the same time!

11.  I want to get organized.  I mean organized, people.  Like knowing what I am going to cook for supper every night, having all ingredients on hand, having something to make when I need to send a meal to a friend AND have a meal or two in the freezer.  At the same time, have a chore list that I actually make the kids do so my house is somewhat in order and not be running late everywhere I go.

12.  I want to slow down and chill out for a while.  I don’t want my kids to have to ask me why we are always in a hurry or why I can never do anything with them.

13.  I want to have all the work done in my house and everything decorated (not professionally-although if a professional would like to offer their services, I am willing to give it the ole college try!).  That includes finishing the bathroom I started working on three years ago, buying and hanging curtains in the living room and kitchen (something I have never had in 13 years of marriage), getting new living room furniture (not that ours isn’t lovely, but it was Tigerfan’s before I even knew him, so it has lived a good life), etc.

Well, that about wraps it up–I am not the most adventurous person around, no bungee jumping for me, but these are the things I thought of off the top of my head.  Give it a try and then head over to Carolyn’s and sign up for the contest and leave me a comment telling me you played along–I would love to see some other lists!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Carolyn said,

    What an amazing list! There are some on your list I would like to do too, like…10, 11 and 12 for starters! LOL, I’m much older than you are, and I haven’t gotten there yet! I hope you have better success at getting there faster than I did!
    Here’s a little tip about decorating! Take a class yourself and learn a few basics! You would be surprised what you learn. But beware, once you got through a few classes you have to pracice on your own home about 4 or 5 times before you get it right! Trust me on this one!
    Thanks so much for doing this so quickly. You did an great job! I hope you win this one! Good luck!

  2. 2

    Heather said,

    Austria is beautiful! I’ve only spent a few hours there. We went to the “Disney” castle. I want to go back and do the Sound of Music tour too!

  3. 3

    Aimee said,

    Okay, not to sound too creepy-like-a-stalker-ish, but . . . come to PA!

    PA is beautiful and I am not biased one little bit 😉 We have the excitement of big cities on either end of the state and then the whole middle of the state is beautiful farmland (for the most part).

    Lots of history: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, etc . .. and Amish country is great! So,so pretty – and the chocolate ain’t half bad either. 🙂

    Whew – I’ve done my little plug for the PA tourist industry. Now I’ll go back to my regularly scheduled programming.

  4. 4

    Dawn said,

    OK so I’m a dork I posted under the wrong one…there’s a good laugh!

  5. 5

    Happy Mommy said,

    I want to have a bakery too! And I too believe that I might gain oh about 500 pounds so some things are left undone! I want to go to the Amish Country too!

  6. 6

    sandrar said,

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

