Yet Another Reason I Will Not Be Mother of the Year

I mentioned recently that Football Boy had had a mole removed on his arm.  He has been a little trooper, going through daily sessions of cleaning the wound and changing the dressings.  He has been a tough little cookie as we have had to rip the bandages off  over and over (although, he did insist we stop using the huge square bandaids that removed the first two layers of skin every time it was removed, and opt instead for gauze and medical tape).  He has asked questions and made sure everthing was healing up okay and yesterday (Sunday) the big day arrived when Daddy got to remove the stitches.  They tried to convince me to do it–yeah, right!  Anyway, daddy removed the stitches and all was well.  He proudly showed off his scar at church yesterday and we thought we were through.  Until last night.  Now, let me say, I am sleep deprived (both from having four children and from a weekend Women’s conference) and the children are sleep deprived so we were not “at our best”.  We got home from church and started the Sunday Night routine:  Eat a bowl of cereal, brush your teeth, etc.  Only the children were not doing it with the speed and precision that I would have liked, so I was getting just a tad cranky.  We finally got them in their beds and I walked upstairs to find my bathroom COVERED in toothpaste, which really irritated me and then Tigerfan found a stash of ten T-shirts hidden all over the boys’ closet where they had deposited them in lieux of actually, you know, hanging them up.  They got out of bed to clean up and it was at that point my sweet, compassionate mommy side sort of disappeared.  Soon after,  Football boy came downstairs to talk to Tigerfan.  It seems that, as he was hanging clothes, he jabbed a hanger into his wound and reopened it.  He was okay until Tigerfan squeezed it ( I have no idea why he would do that) and it started bleeding again.

Oh, people!  He LOST it!  He went into a full blown panic attack:  Am I going to be okay?  What are we going to do?  Tears are pouring, breathing is erratic!  Am I going to bleed to death?  You get the picture.  And this is where my finest moment came in.  because, you see, I have a tendency to be a little sarcastic.  And while I realized he was scared, I could see that this was really not the end of the world, it was really okay.  And so, in a moment to make all mothers proud, I said.  “No, honey, you are Not going to be okay.  Let’s go upsatirs and Mommy will just cut off that part of your arm!”  I am not kidding.  That is really what I said!  It was a bad choice!  The panic escalated and it took a while, some sweet talk, some tylenol, some bandages,an elevated arm and a LOT of praying to calm him down.

This morning, I am letting him sleep.  Tigerfan is calling the doctor as soon as they open.  And I, well, I am keeping my mouth shut!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Happy Mommy said,

    It is so hard to keep calm while your child is freaking out for no reason! I have said some lovely things myself a time or two.

  2. 2

    Carolyn said,

    OH my word this was too funny! Not that his sore opened and bleeding and that he was having a panic attack.. nor the toothpaste and the t-shirts, no, no, none of that…you’re not getting mother of the year…and you’re keeping your mouth shut! LOL

  3. 3

    Aimee said,

    Oh my friend, come and join me on The Wall of Sarcasm. I’ve gotten that award nine years running I think, and it ain’t pretty 🙂

    Tomorrow is another day . . .


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

